Daniel Hynes

  • Home
    Home This is where you can find all the blog posts throughout the site.
  • Archives
    Archives Contains a list of blog posts that were created previously.

Manchester teen charged with Aggravated DWI

Posted by on in Uncategorized
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 3760
  • 0 Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print

Manchester Teen Charged With Aggravated DWI, Transportation of Alcohol

A Manchester teenager entered an innocent plea on January 2nd, 2014 in the Manchester District Division Circuit Court after being charged with an aggravated DWI, unlawful possession, illegal transportation of alcoholic beverages by a minor, and allowing an unauthorized individual to operate a motor vehicle.

Manchester police officers stated that Sean M, 18 years of age, was operating a motor vehicle on December 14th, 2013 before 2 a.m. along Dubuque Street while having a BAC of .02% or higher, in addition to having a passenger in the vehicle who was under 16 years of age. Furthermore, Seab has been charged with unlawful possession of alcohol by a minor, unlawful transportation of alcohol by a minor, and with allowing his 14 year old companion to illegally drive his SUV on New Hampshire roadways.

The trial has been set for February 4th.

Sean's particular case highlights how multiple charges can arise from one particular scenario, and in the state of New Hampshire, the penalties for a single underage DWI conviction are severe. This type of criminal offense is classified as a Class B misdemeanor, and the potential criminal sanctions  for a conviction include:

§  A minimum monetary fine of $500.00 and a maximum fine of $1,200.00

§  A court ordered loss of driving privileges ranging from 12 months to 24 months

§  Required completion of IDCMP Substance Abuse Screening

§  A 20 hour long Impaired Driver Education Program

§  Any additional counseling or treatment ordered by the court

§  6 demerit points added to their driving record

If convicted of Aggravated DWI, he will go to jail. There is no exception (including his young age). The only way to not go to jail is to not be found guilty of aggravated DWI.

§  The possible required installation of an ignition interlock device in their motor vehicle

Some insurance providers within the state of New Hampshire will elect to terminate an underage motorist’s insurance policy after they have been convicted of an underage DWI. Others will simply refuse to renew a policy. Monthly insurance rates can rise substantially if a teen is classified as a high risk motorist. The New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles will require an underage motorist to provide an SR22 certificate before their driver’s license can be reinstated, which also costs additional monies.

In the state of New Hampshire, the legal drinking age is 21, and it is illegal for an individual under the age of 21 to consume any type of alcoholic beverages. There are no exceptions to these rules. Within our state, a disproportionate percentage of automobile accidents related to alcohol are caused by underage drinkers. Statistically, underage drinkers also have a tendency to engage in more frequent episodes of binge drinking. For these reasons, New Hampshire has enacted strict penalties for those convicted of underage DWI.

If your child has been charged with an underage DWI  for a free consultation, contact our law today to speak with one of our experienced New Hampshire DWI lawyers. It is our pledge to our clients to work closely with them to ensure that the best possible outcome in your case is achieved.

 

Rate this blog entry:
0

Comments

  • No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Monday, 27 May 2024